Skip to content
Alabama Small Business Development Center Network

ACE Celebrates 15 Years

In 2017, Alabama Communities of Excellence (ACE) will celebrate its 15th anniversary of helping selected small Alabama communities achieve long-term economic success.  Targeting communities with populations of 2,000 to 18,000, ACE is a non-profit organization that provides technical assistance services and guides communities through a three-phase process to achieve sustainable outcomes.

Led by Executive Director, Ms. Sidney O. Hoover, and a 21-member Board of Directors, the ACE program currently boasts 38 communities across the state, and plans to accept a new class of 4-6 additional communities during 2017.  Commenting on the 15-year success record of the ACE program, Hoover observed “The ACE program has proven successful due to the continuing involvement of our communities and their belief and confidence in the ACE process and vision.  Our founding partners remain as active proponents of the ACE program.  We are honored to have such a capable team of committed, hardworking supporters and volunteers to lead us in our efforts to improve the quality-of-life for these small Alabama communities.”

Over the past year, ACE welcomed four new partners to our Board of Directors:  Alabama Association of RC&D Councils, Alabama Small Business Development Center Network, Information Transport Solutions, Inc., and Jackson Thornton & Company.  We are pleased to add these organizations to our diverse governing board; they bring a broad range of expertise to the ACE program and will provide significant value to the services that we can offer our communities.

The Board of Directors includes:

Patrick Murphy, President and Chairman of the Board – Alabama Power Company
Brandon Bias, Vice President – Goodwyn Mills & Cawood
Carrie Banks, Secretary – Alabama League of Municipalities
Wendi Boyen, Treasurer – Regions Bank
Lisa Miller, Past President – Alabama Municipal Electric Authority
Aliquippa Allen – The University of West Alabama
Jim Byard – Alabama Department of Economic and Community Affairs
Greg Clark – Alabama Association of Regional Councils
Brian Davis – Alabama Small Business Development Center Network
Caleb Goodwyn – PowerSouth Energy Cooperative
William Hodge – Alabama Association of RC&D Councils
Wiley Lott – Southeast Alabama Gas District
Steve Meany – Information Transport Solutions, Inc.
Arturo Menefee – Auburn University – ACES Community Development
Nisa Miranda – The University of Alabama Center for Economic Development
Terry Mitchell – Jackson Thornton & Company
Mary Shell – Alabama Historical Commission
Ken Smith – Alabama League of Municipalities
Joe Sumners – Auburn University – Government and Economic Development Institute
Beverly Helton – USDA Rural Development

During the November 2016 quarterly meeting, a new slate of officers was elected who will take office in January of 2017.  The Alabama Communities of Excellence welcomes the 2017 Officers and extends a wholehearted thank you to the 2016 Officers who worked tirelessly to provide an exceptional year of progress for ACE.

ACE 2017 Officers

Mr. Patrick Murphy of the Alabama Power Company remains as President and Chairman of the Board; Ms. Lisa Miller of the Alabama Municipal Electric Authority remains as Past President and Chairman of the Board; Mr. Brandon Bias of Goodwyn Mills & Cawood, Inc. remains as Vice President; Ms. Carrie Banks of the Alabama League of Municipalities was elected as Secretary and succeeds Ms. Angela Till of the Alabama Department of Commerce; Ms. Wendi Boyen of Regions Bank remains as Treasurer.  Elected Members-at-Large are Dr. Arturo Menefee of Auburn University’s ACES Community Development, and Ms. Mary Shell of the Alabama Historical Commission.  Additional Members-at-Large include: Ms. Aliquippa Allen of The University of West Alabama and Ms. Nisa Miranda of The University of Alabama Center for Economic Development.

The 2017 Associate Council Officers include:  Chair, Ms. Candace Skelton of The University of Alabama Center for Economic Development who succeeds Mr. Mike Easterwood of Auburn University’s Government and Economic Development Institute; Mr. Joey Hester of the North Central Alabama Regional Council of Governments who succeeds Ms. Candace Skelton; and Secretary, Ms. Anne Kimzey, of the Alabama State Council on the Arts who succeeds Ms. Nancy Robertson of Top of Alabama Council of Governments.


Back To Top